MIAMI, FL — Florida’s largest county is close to allowing some people caught possessing small amounts of marijuana to receive a $100 fine instead of being arrested after a key legislative committee in Miama-Dade County gave preliminary approval to the plan Wednesday.
If enacted, the proposal would rewrite county law to give police the option of issuing a civil citation instead of arresting an offender who is caught possessing 20 grams or less of marijuana. The civil violation would be punishable by a $100 fine, or two days of community service.
Under Florida law, possession of 20 grams or less of marijuana is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in prison and fines up to $1,000.
Police would still be allowed to place an offender under arrest under state law…
Source: The Daily Chronic